The aim of the Going to the Pictures Project has been to help preserve a part of our local cinema heritage by collecting and recording memories from people who used and worked in the local picture houses from the 1930′s to the 1960′s.
Explore this map of 21 local cinemas within a 3 mile radius of the Plaza, from 1930 to 1960.
Crosby Cinema or Crosby Picture House was opened 100 years ago as Crosby’s only cinema.
As part of the project volunteers were given the opportunity to attend a Website Workshop in which they learnt skills on how to upload text and visual content to this website.
Children’s Cinema shows and matinees hoped to develop young cinema goers into life long film and cinema fans
In some cinemas admission could be obtained by exchanging jam jars if you had no money. This practice was especially true at the children’s cinema matinees where some children would take them to the cinema with jam still in.
The film magazine Picture Show was first published in 1919, and gave readers an insight into films that were showing at their local cinemas but more importantly it gave readers the opportunity to learn more […]
The increased popularity in televisions in the home helped bring about the demise of regular cinema going.
Some students from Crosby High School have helped to create the Cinema Heritage Trail Map depicting the sites of the 21 Cinemas
To research and collect memories of Going to the Pictures we have worked with several community groups, organisations and individuals and would like to thank them all.